About

The 18th International Power Summit is a conference and meetings event focusing on the leading power generation utilities and manufacturers responsible for commercial, technical, procurement, asset management and maintenance to develop new business opportunities and engage in meaningful discussions on the key topics across conventional, nuclear and renewable energy. IPS presents the industry with the most effective platform for building partnerships at a technical and strategic level. The conference programme supported by a specialist Advisory Board attracts an exclusive line-up of leading speakers from across the energy sector, including key decision makers in generation and plant development, project management and international development.

Please note that free delegate passes are only available for senior specifiers and cannot be used by supplier partners/solution providers.

This is a CPD certified event, allowing you to earn up to 6 CPD points. CPD is the holistic commitment of professionals towards enhancement of personal skills and proficiency throughout their careers.

IPS 2021 Suppliers

Speakers

Clare Duffy

Network Development and Electrification Manager

ESB Networks

Michael Frank

Director Sales & Product Development

Uniper Engineering Group

Oliver Weinmann

Managing Director

Vattenfall Europe Innovation GmbH

Sheila Hollis

Acting Executive Director

United States Energy Association

Tobias Bühnen

Policy Advisor

Gas Infrastructure Europe (GIE)

Elbia

CEO At Abeeolica

Vice Chair Of Board At GWEC

William David Hartell

Director, Developments

Operations & Production, Stellae Energy

Stuart Ravens

Analyst and Advisor

Corax Insights

Ali Aboosi

Country Head

Nordics & Baltic State, Chromalox

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Emmanouil Kakaras

SVP and Head of New Business

Mitsubishi Power Europe

Julien de Beer

Senior Vice President Portfolio Strategy

AVEVA

Benedikt Ortmann

Global Director Solar Projects

BayWa r.e

Andreas Reisacher

Senior Sales Manager Power Generation Europe & Northern Africa

Rolls-Royce

Dennis Zumbach

Director Sales Power Generation EMEA

Rolls-Royce

Advisory Board

Aurel Mindrican

Trade Development Manager

CEZ Trade Romania

Tom Walsh

CEO

Renetech AB

Michael Frank

CEO

Uniper Anlagenservice

Agenda


25th February - International Power Summit

 GMT 09:30

 EST 04:30 

OPENING ADDRESS: Preparing for the new normal - an outlook on the impact of COVID-19 in the energy industry in 2020 and early 2021 and what to expect onwards

  • How has coronavirus changed work culture, tools and workflows?
  • Planning for additional volatility and risk
  • Will it change the way we deal with supply chain demand?
  • Automation and digitalisation as important allies for enhanced resiliency
Michael Frank, Director Sales and Product Development, Uniper
 GMT 10:00

 EST 05:00

Sustainability and energy independence: ready for the future?

  • Latest trends and challenges
  • Business case calculations of technical and economic benefits for specific scenarios
  • Outlook for future technology developments, hurdles and chances
Dennis Zumbach, Director Sales Power Generation EMEA, Rolls-Royce
Andreas Reisacher, Senior Sales Manager Power Generation Europe & Northern Africa, Rolls-Royce
 GMT 10:30

 EST 05:30

Driving digital transformation in the power industry for profitability and sustainability

Julien de Beer , Senior Vice President Portfolio Strategy, AVEVA
 GMT 11:00

 EST 06:00

PANEL DISCUSSION: Long term roadmap for development and regulatory framework for renewable energy

  • Enhancing energy security with governments and regulators
  • Regulation and policy roadmap after COVID-19
  • Green Deal and clean energy package
  • Will coronavirus push sustainability and climate change up or down the list of concerns?
  • Key government activities to support development of the renewables industry - current programmes, projects, initiatives and regulatory changes to attract investments
Moderator: Stuart Ravens, Chief Analyst, Tech Thematic Research, GlobalData Plc
William David Hartell, Managing Director, Stellae Energy
Roxana Caliminte, Policy Advisor, Gas Infrastructure Europe (IGE)
Tom Walsh, CEO, Renetech AB
 GMT 11:50

 EST 06:50

Virtual Networking Break

 GMT 12:05

 EST 07:05

Outlook of the wind power sector

  • Wind Power in global context
  • Free market and new models
  • Challenges of offshore wind in Brazil
Elbia Gannoum, Vice Chair, Global Wind Energy Council; CEO, Brazilian Wind Power Association
 GMT 12:30

 EST 07:30

Decarbonising industrial clusters: from carbon-free power to carbon-free fuels

  • Hydrogen / Gas Turbines are essential to stabilize power supply in energy transition
  • Electrolysers to ensure security of supply in a future renewable energy world
  • Blue hydrogen as market enabler to meet decarbonisation targets
  • Power-to-Fuel as H2/energy carrier to commoditize green energy
Prof. Emmanouil Kakaras, Senior Vice President and Head of New Services, Mitsubishi Power Europe
 GMT 13:00

 EST 08:00

INTERVIEW: Discussing hydrogen: from generation to trade, storage, combustion and transportation

  • The importance of Hydrogen for the energy transition
  • Best practices on utilising existing units previously built for natural gas
  • Potential markets for renewable hydrogen
  • Future use of decarbonised hydrogen for power generation
Oliver Weinmann, Managing Director, Vattenfall Europe Innovation GmbH
Chaired by Stuart Ravens, Analyst and Advisor, Corax Insights
 GMT 13:30

 EST 08:30

Distribution network readiness for increased electric vehicle uptake

  • How can electric vehicles transform the utility sector?
  • What is already happening: real life cases
  • Understanding how electric mobility can be an enabler of electricity market boost
  • How to be prepared for its growth and not being caught with unexpected peak load compromising the grid?
Clare Duffy, Network Development and Electrification Manager, ESB Network
 GMT 14:00

 EST 09:00

Virtual Networking Break

 GMT 14:15

 EST 09:15

2021 – An evolving energy landscape

Sheila Hollis, Acting Executive Director, United States Energy Association
 GMT 14:50

 EST 09:50

Utilising electric heaters for long term thermal energy storage

  • Chromalox at a glance
  • How can electrical heaters transform the power-to-heat energy storage market
  • Lifetime (CAPEX & OPEX) analysis of medium voltage (up to 6600V nominal) versus low voltage (up to 690V nominal) heating systems
  • Flexibility and features of utilizing electric heating systems for thermal energy storage
Ali Aboosi, Country Head – Nordics & Baltic State, Chromalox
 GMT 15:20

 EST 10:20

Virtual Networking Break

 GMT 15:35

 EST 10:35

Grid parity in Europe: why it happens and where we are heading at

  • Grid parity spread from south to north all over Europe
  • First CPPA for PV in Poland
  • The fight against climate change and the beginning of a new era in energy transition
  • What would decarbonising the EU with wind and solar really mean?
Benedikt Ortmann, Global Director Solar Projects, BayWa r.e


Contact Us

For any enquiries about sponsorship, please contact:
Renee Place

renee.place@ns-mediagroup.com

For any enquiries about the event, please contact:
Gessica Tempobuono

gessica.tempobuono@ns-mediagroup.com